Onze reis naar Amsterdam

Wednesday dawned with the light of a new day and the hope of a fun trip to Amsterdam. We – meaning me, Terhi, Layton, Shannon, Caitlin and Cemre – met up pretty early in the morning, keen to arrive at our destination. The high ticket prices  made us, perhaps, a little less keen but we carried on in spite of this. Amsterdam is Amsterdam. We left from Nijmegen station on the bottom half of a double decker train (the top was too full for our posse). Most trains here seem to have two levels and I love it. I have a childish admiration for these newfangled trains, like a toddler seeing bunk-beds for the first time.

The journey took an hour and a half, which seemed to pass by quickly. I enjoyed the free wifi on board whilst the rest of the group enjoyed the free time to catch up on the sleep they had missed that morning.

Instagram photos I uploaded whilst on the train – love free wifi

Upon arrival at Centraal Station, excitement ensued. The building which houses the station is magnificent so I’m glad we went there by train. As we made our way into the city centre, I started to recognise places I had come on my first visit to Amsterdam and it gave me a nice feeling. I enjoyed that trip.

Soon we went our separate ways. Layton and Caitlin visited the Anne Frank Huis, whilst the rest of us went to get some lunch. Shannon, Terhi and I didn’t bother going to the museum because we had all been before, and Cemre had just never heard of Anne Frank.

Once our tummys were full we went to check on Caitlin and Layton’s progress. They had just got to the front of the queue when we arrived so we skipped off and had a look round a nearby church before going to do something really cultural: winkelen (shopping). It turns out Amsterdam has a fair few English shops. River Island, for example. I was secretly pleased about the familiarity as well as the labels displaying UK sizes instead of these confusing European ones.

Next stop was the I Amsterdam sign. Grammatically questionable but I’ll move on. It was dog eat dog amongst us tourists trying to get a space in the large lettering, but we just about managed it and got a few sneaky shots.

Whilst the gang went to look at the Van Gogh museum (Terhi and I had already been), Cemre was adamant that we visit the Red Light District. We made our way there, slipping into a few shops on our way back through the main area, but it was about 5 o’clock in the afternoon so there wasn’t much going on. I was quite relieved as it’s not exactly my favourite place in the world. However, Cemre was pleased when we saw at least one half-naked woman in a window. I was pleased when we headed back to Dam Square to meet the others.

I really enjoyed my day in Amsterdam but there is one thing I disliked about the place. Being such a large city, with so many hip and interesting inhabitants and a huge amount of bicycles, I couldn’t help but get Bike Envy. Don’t get me wrong, I love the bike I have here in Nijmegen. It’s a little rusty and it’s not the most attractive shade of blue but it’s comfy, has gears and a basket and it gets me around. No, there’s nothing wrong with ol’ Pom Pom (short for Pomegranate – don’t ask me why I called it that…I don’t even know!) but around every corner was yet another beauty that I wanted to hop onto and ride away. But I couldn’t, so I took pictures instead.

We, of course saw many stereotypical things in Amsterdam:

– Tulips (though I think we all now know that they originated from Turkey)

– Clogs

– Windmills

– Canals

– Lots and lots of flowers at the Flower Market

– And of course, weird looking drugs shops

I was going to include the rest of my week in this post but it seems a little long already and so I shall leave you now and talk about all the exciting things I’ve been up to since Amsterdam in another post.

Groetjes!

Leave a Reply

